My Special Day

Once again, like clockwork, it’s Father’s Day.

To all my peeps, I wish you a happy day and “milk it”.

As I am now a fifty year old dad with two teenaged daughters, the importance of Father’s Day seems to be becoming less and less important.

When the girls were little, it was a big thing (as was Mother’s Day). My girls would always do something special – either make a fantastic homemade card or attempt to make something nice for breakfast. I even remember once being treated to an at-home spa day. The girls would cut slices of cucumbers to go on my eyes (then proceed to eat them) and they would offer to give me a back a massage or a facial scrub. It didn’t really matter because my two amazing girls treated me like I was a king…if just for one day.

Now my two little darlings are 15 and 18. They are living life and are both on their own individual journeys – each with interests and friends and school that take their focus off of their parents.

I am spending a portion of my Father’s Day driving my eldest daughter to her job at a nearby summer camp (about a 90 minute drive away). We are at that stage in the year where we both need a break from one another. We are both aware of this and both realize it is necessary. She is 18, goes to university and lives at home with us. I totally understand that she is getting sick and tired of being barked at by her mother and father for not cleaning her room, washing the dishes, helping with the laundry. I, as her dad, am sick and tired of barking at her. It is absolutely exhausting.

So, it seems ironic that we are celebrating Father’s Day at the natural breaking point where a father and daughter need a bit of a break from one another.

But this need seemed to go away earlier this week when I had to drive a town near where my daughter goes to camp, for purposes of work.

She has been finished school since April and has been at home. She didn’t line up any work to fill her pockets with some cash and her days with something to do. It’s been a very long six weeks.

She asked if she could tag along – mostly hoping that she would be able to see one of her friends who lives in this town. She would catch a free ride with me, have me drop her off at friends…do my thing and then pick her up to come home.

Fortunately, none of her friends were available to hang out and she was stuck with me the entire day. We had a fantastic time together. We both share a love of music and while our musical tastes are different, we had conversations about music, we talked about the future, we talked about life after university, her fears about joining the work force, about finding a job with meaning that she would enjoy that would be able to provide her with a decent wage. It wasn’t a dad lecturing to his daughter (which I have often been accused of doing), but just two people talking about the world around them and the challenges we each face as citizens of the world.

We ate lunch together, laughed and burped together and even made some time for a little shopping therapy.

It was absolutely wonderful and made my Wednesday work day seem magical and special. While Father’s Day isn’t until the 19th of June, in my mind, it came early and the best gift I could ever wish for came true. I got to spend it with my beautiful daughter.

This Father’s Day, don’t go to the golf course, do work around the house or chill with your buddies. Do what you’re supposed to do on Father’s Day – be a dad.

 

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

