The Enlightened Male Enters A New Chapter?

So I have been blogging under the “Enlightened Male” name for a few years and I think I need to make a change.

When I first came up with the name back in 2010, I was in the midst of doing a review of myself and seeking help in figuring out what was happening “under the hood”.

The word “enlightened” was often used in conversation when I was with my Spiritual Psychotherapist and it resonated with me.

She always told me that I was light years ahead of the majority of the population because I gave a shit about what was important to me and focused alot on prioritizing my life instead of progressing through my life like a zombie, unaware of and unable to affect any kind of positive change for myself.

“Enlightened” to me meant that I knew something others didn’t. I had a perspective on things that others could learn from.

But am I really “enlightened” and does the blog name really reflect what it is that I write about in here? I am over 160 posts in and I am now wondering, is it time to change the name?

Besides, when I Google the name “Enlightened Male”, other things come up in the search that have nothing to do with “enlightenment”.

Sexual performance enhancers, sexual aids, condoms…that kind of thing.

Not the kinds of things I write about – not that there is anything wrong with any of those things!

I write about my family and observations about life around me. I write about things that I encounter and how they affect me. I comment on things that not everyone will agree with or believe in things that might sometimes go against the grain, but as I keep on saying, this is MY blog and I can write anything I want. You don’t have to like it, you don’t have to agree with it. All you have to do is consider it.

So, I am now at this point where I need a blog makeover. However, it isn’t just about changing the header, the background image, adding new widgets or inserting an updated picture of me or my kids.

It’s all about the brand, or so I am told. While I would like to think that my name is pretty solid and once you get the nail down pronunciation, its pretty memorable. But lets face facts, it just won’t cut it.

I am reaching out to the microscopic portion of the population who read my blog with regularity. You know who you are are and you know what I am saying, you know how I am feeling…some of you even know me pretty intimately.

Help!

Once you get all the goofy and stupid name ideas out of your system, reach out to me and let me know. My wife already came up with a few doozies….but no, I am not going to use them.

Its the next chapter in my role as a blogger.

I would like to see my stats improve and I am hoping that an blog image makeover, complete with a new name, will do the trick.

I am putty in your hands.

Help!

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Enlightened Male Enters A New Chapter?

  1. Don’t beat yourself up too much, leave that to your Wife. I wish I could think of something Highly inspiring maybe even original. But You must decide because you know best how you feel. I like what you’ve done so far, I’ll Probably be Gobsmacked at your new direction. Onward and upward. bye.

Leave a Reply

