Inspiration

I am feeling a bit empty.

When I first started “The Enlightened Male” in December of 2010, I had such a huge backlog of material to write about, I couldn’t wait to attack each new blog posting. In fact, at the very beginning of this blogging journey, I was putting up posts on an almost daily basis.

It felt so good to pour out my feelings and thoughts and put them into the digital universe for all of my three followers to enjoy (ok, well maybe a few more than 3 but you are all very quiet and unwilling to share your thoughts with me…tisk tisk).

Now I am over 150 posts into this journey and I find that the gaps between submissions are getting longer.

It concerns me.

I knew back when I started that if I had to I could always write about my wonderful children or my amazing wife (although she would probably have the final edit on those postings about her).

But as the days and weeks lapse between postings, I am worried that I have lost my inspiration. You can call it “writers block”…I call it a need to remind myself of what inspires me…what gets me up in the morning.

So, I am going back to square one – back to the beginning.

I am going back to the beginning to remind myself of what I got into this blogging “thing” for in the first place. What was my motivation? Why did I decide to set up a blog account at WordPress and start my written blabberfest?

I was unmotivated in my career, unhappy with my job and desiring to take a detour in my journey to find a new direction involving work that is more reflective of who I am and what is important to me. But as I began to make that transition (which I am still in the midst of…realizing that it ain’t so easy), I also had an opportunity to rethink my life; to take stock in what is important to me, what motivates and inspires me.

For some reason, that part was and continues to be easy.

After spending considerable time and effort working on me, I realized what many of us probably already know but are too busy or stuck in a rut to change….life is short, things are meaningless, family and relationships are everything.

I solidified in my mind and talked about in my blogs, that the important things in life have nothing to do with getting stuff or living large – “he who dies with the most toys” still dies. But does he die fulfilled driving his new Mercedes, living in his $1,000 per square foot condo or bragging about his Prada shoes?

No.

Many years ago, I used to think like this. I wanted the fancy car, the big house and the closet filled with clothes. I don’t have any of those things, but I do have an amazing wife, fabulous children, a wonderful extended family and an existence that seems to work just fine. Do I want more? I guess maybe I do…afterall, I am a human being and us humans are programmed to never be satisfied with what we have. So yes, maybe I want a bit more…but what I want ties into going after things that will provide me with less stress and allow me to do more things with those that I love most.

I want my mortgage to disappear (who doesn’t?), I want to go on more family trips and experience other parts of the world with my wife and kids. I would like to be more appreciative of the world around me; to look around and be thankful for and experience all the natural beauty there is in the world. I would like a new kitchen (well, my wife really wants that one) and maybe a new dining room set and sofa. As you can see, not really big things (maybe expensive things…but not really life-changing things).

I don’t really need to surround myself with more stuff…I would much rather surround myself with the love of those closest to me.

Yes..this feels good. This is taking me back to where I began! It is reminding me of what brings a smile to my face and warmth to my heart. These feelings can never be obtained by stressing myself or making myself sick just to have the newest and best of everything. The thrill of buying something new is always shortlived and doesn’t satisfy in the same way that connecting with those closest to you does.

So, as we head into the month of December (and my birthday for those that care), I also head into the anniversary of another year as “The Enlightened Male”.

I hope to continue being inspired by the good things I see in the world around me and coming from those experiences involving those people closest to me. I hope that I can share my thoughts and experiences with you and that you take even the smallest something away from each blog posting that I write. As I have said before and I will say again…you don’t have to agree with everything I write…just allow yourself to be open to new ideas.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

