Wait Up!!

Recently, I have been more aware about comments people make about the topic of time.

“Time flies”.

“This week went by so quickly”.

Or, my favorite, when talking about children, “look how quickly they’ve grown up!”

All of these statements, when you really think about it, mean absolutely nothing.

Time is time. Time moves as fast as it is supposed to move. It doesn’t speed up or slow down.

It is constant.

What seems to determine how fast or slow time moves past is our perception or awareness of it and how and what we are doing in our lives at any particular moment.

Think about it.

You have had a crazy week. Meetings, nights out with friends, nights in helping with homework. Chores around the house. After school commitments with the kids. The list goes on. Usually at the end of one of these weeks, we are more inclined to reflect by saying how quickly the week went by. Time flew by.

You pull out some old photo albums or go through some old boxes of your kids clothing. You leaf through the pages of the album and are shocked at how much your children have changed and have grown or how they have outgrown their favorite pair of jeans. Photographs are really the best way to chronicle the changes in our children and how quickly time moves. But it doesn’t move quickly or slowly…it just moves. Its only when we stop to acknowledge it that we realize how unaware we are of the passage of time.

On the eve of my 21st anniversary to my amazing and beautiful wife, I might get sentimental and pull out our wedding album. I can do this to bring back many fond memories of our special day that started off a new life together as partners. But I can also look at it and admire how youthful I looked…how much more hair I had, no grey hairs to speak of and how many less pounds I was carrying. I can look at these pictures, reflect and say, “where has the time gone?”

I know exactly where the time has gone. It has passed and with it so have many amazing and not so amazing events and experiences.

There are times when I feel that I can’t keep up. As I approach my 47th year in this life (holy shit, 47…where has the time gone? Ooops!), there are a boat-load of things that I have wanted to do and haven’t. Yet, I can’t control how much time I have left to complete everything I want. There are trips I want to take, self-improvement endeavours I want to accomplish, professional goals I aspire to, relationships I want to nurture and family events I need to be apart of.

There is much to be done and I can’t tell time to slow down and wait for me. Time just moves along at its own pace. 24 hours in each day, 7 days in each week and twelve months in each year.

Only when I stop and think about this kind of stuff, I sometimes get overwhelmed. When this happens, I try to take a moment to reflect on what I have accomplished in my 47 years. The milestones that I have celebrated, the lives I have created, nurtured and impacted, the people that I have met along the way that have influenced or guided my life, the love that has expanded my heart.

When I take stocl, I realize that my life is full and complete and is the way its supposed to be. Sure there are things that still need to get done and places and people I still want to go and meet. But my journey is not over and even if it ended tomorrow, I can honestly say that the speed of life has really not overwhelmed me and that I am supposed to be where I am supposed to me because it is my life. I do not need to compare where I am at in my life to anybody else’s.

The speed with which I am moving through my life is just fine the way it is, thank you very much.

The only thing that I need to do and focus really hard on is savouring each breath…embracing each moment as it comes – whether it is a good or bad, because all moments are memorable.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

