Stuck

Bono said it best:

“You’ve got to get yourself together,
You’ve got stuck in a moment and now you can’t get out of it.”

My “moment” has been lasting for about two years…and despite my efforts, I still feel stuck in it.

Mom, Dad…I know you read my blog. Don’t worry I am fine. I am just feeling a bit sorry for myself.

Feeling sorry for myself is very unlike me. For those of you who know me well, I can tell you that I am normally a very optimistic, glass-is-half-full, kind of guy. Some people close to me are amazed how eternally positive I am despite some challenges I have been working through over the past little while (mostly…finding a career path that brings passion and abundance).

On Facebook, I follow all of those positive message providers, taking much comfort from their words of encouragement and the posting of quotations that resonate with me.

But, yesterday it seemed as though none of that made any sense to me. It all seemed like bullshit…meaningless words that I am supposed to live my life by…to give me strength and courage and fight to keep pushing forward.

Yesterday I really questioned whether or not all of these words of inspiration and positive messages really were working or had any meaning or that if I followed the message that I would get through my “moment”.

Yesterday was just an overall shitty, unproductive day. Normally I don’t wish for days to be over because of the finite nature of life, but I am glad that today is a new day.

Today, after participating in a fairly vigorous morning spinning class, my head has cleared and I have been able to shake off the funk that I was in from the day before and am now moving forward.

Life is not only “like a box of chocolates” as was mentioned in the movie Forest Gump, but each day is like a different page in a book. You have to keep turning the pages and keep reading to find out what happens at the end of the book.

Of course, I know what is going to happen at the end of my book. Its pretty much the same ending as everyone elses. However, each page in my book is unique and different and is interesting enough to keep me wanting to read on.

Yesterday’s page was about a guy who was feeling sorry for himself…allowing his “head” to get in the way of his heart. Today, that same guy who was a complete doofus the day before, is back to being the positive, upbeat and eternally optimisitic guy he was a few pages back.

I keep on my reminding myself that my quest for professional passion will come but isn’t something that defines me as a person. I am much more than just a job and a paycheque (although both of these are nice to have and help to keep the wolves away).

I am a husband, a friend, a father, a son, a brother, an uncle, a cousin and a vibrant member of planet Earth.

We all need to give ourselves pep talks every so often. These little conversations with ourselves are just reminders that we are only here for a brief moment in time and that we should savor each day and bask in the beauty of the relationships that we have with those that are closest to us. We need to look up at the sky and the tree tops more often and remember to breathe in and out.

Some days will not be our finest…some will be filled with challenges, sadness, frustration and stress. But, I am pretty convinced that even in those darkest of days that we can still somehow manage to find a little something good and to remind ourselves of just how fortunate we are.

There…perfect. Feeling much better.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

