“What Not To Wear”

Yes, I fully admit to the fact that I enjoy watching the famed TLC show with Stacey and Clinton. In fact, at one point, I was so taken with Clinton’s style, I was going through a period of buying sport shirts that were “Clinton-like”; bold stripes and colors and very stylish.

I love to watch the show with those left in my family who still enjoy watching it; my youngest daughter who is turning 11 in a few weeks.

I have seen countless women (and a few men), transformed – both inside and out by Stacey, Clinton, Carmindy and the hair stylist of the moment (Nick or Ted). Some go into the process kicking and screaming, clinging onto their old wardrobes while others totally embrace the concept of change.

I, to a certain extent, have become somewhat of a fashion maven…developing an eye for “what not to wear”.

Nowhere better were my new skills put to the test than when my family and I were vacationing in Florida.

On a couple of occasions, mostly do to crappy weather, we wound up shopping for clothes with our two young daughters. My 14 year old was looking for some dresses to wear for some special occasions coming up later this spring and into early summer.

There were no shortage of stores that offered great selection and really good prices (no, I am not naming names…this is not an endorsement for one store over another…not unless I get some kind of kick-back for name dropping!).

I was fascinated to see what kinds of “looks” my daughter was drawn to as we combed through the many racks of the many stores we visited during our vacay. It was a long process and yes, I had the patience of a saint!

She is tall, has long gorgeous curly hair, has a great body, pretty face, gorgeous eyes…she is a “looker”. Anything would look fantastic on her.

Our first stop was to a shoe store chain that we have come to love over the past few years because of its breadth of selection and pricing.

She was looking for something very specific with a very big heel..but no cork because she hates the look of cork. Half hour later she slipped on a pair of Steve Maddens and began to walk, stumbling up and down the aisles of the shoe store as she was trying to get used to wearing such enormous heels.

Standing next to me, she was almost my height (I am six foot three inches). She awkwardly paraded around the store, struggling with her new found height and “ho-like” shoes on her feet.

“No way” was all that kept coming to my mind. No innocent 14 year daughter of mine, was going to walk around in those monstrosities. She could tell by the look on my face that I was less than impressed with her choice. I could not believe that out of the hundreds…if not thousands…of pairs of shoes available in that store that this was what she was drawn to. After much deliberation and conversation, she saw the error in her ways and walked out of the store empty-handed.

During the course of our stay in Florida, she was hemming and hawing between 4 different dresses. Some, my wife and I found for her…others, she found for herself.

When she slipped on one little black number, I kept on hearing Stacey London’s voice in my head, “shut the front door”…but not in a good way.

While I didn’t take a picture, I can tell you that it fit where it touched, was way too tight, way too short and way too revealing. With the right make up and those hideous platform shoes from the shoe store, my daughter could have easily passed for a certain kind of female worker…if you know what I mean.

I began thinking to myself, “is this my daughter’s taste? Is this what she is drawn too? Is this kind of image she wants to project? Is this what she thinks boys like?”

All these dresses she was digging up were inappropriate and unnecessary for a girl her age.

Sounding like a typical father, we continued on our search.

Finally, a dress, that my daughter discovered on her own, was located. It was green, long sleeved with slits in the sleeve and cut to mid-thigh. A little Calvin Klein dress that made her look breathtakingly beautiful..and only $49.99. We were comfortable with the price and the hemline.

Very age-appropriate and the right kind of look for our daughter. She was thrilled and we were thrilled because after many hours of searching and much push-back from her, she found something that we all agreed on.

When we got back to our condo, she modeled it again for my wife and I. I looked at her, in awe as this gorgeous 14 year old tall drink of water came out of the bedroom, long tanned legs, her long curly tresses flowing and a big smile on her face, happy with her selection.

We all marveled at her beauty and her choice.

Needless to say, we are still looking for shoes. I am thinking Birkenstocks!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in The Enlightened Male, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

