What Am I Going to Do in 2012?

The beauty of another change in year is that we all have the chance, if we wish to take it, of wiping our slate clean..to start anew.

In Judaism, during the holiest of holidays, Yom Kippur, jewish people have the opportunity to wipe their slates clean by repenting and atoning for their sins. God hears their cries for forgiveness, reminds them of what it is to live a life that is proper and sends them on their way to screw up for another year, knowing that they will be back looking for forgiveness all over again.

So, as we count down to the end of this personally lacklustre year, I am asking myself, “What am I going to do in 2012”? How is this new year going to be different and better than 2011?

I remind myself that in order to have a better new year, I have to assume control of my life and how it is lived over the next twelve months (and beyond). I cannot let others or circumstance control my life, I have to be the “boss-man”.

I also know going into this time of year for resolution, that I might not deliver on the goods…in the same way a politician often over-promises and under-delivers. So, while I plan on shifting some stuff in 2012, just like in yoga, I am not going to beat myself up if I don’t successfully complete everything I set my sights on. Its all about the journey and less about the outcome.

For me, all that I want stems from my need and want to have a satisfying and rewarding career that is more reflective of who I am. For too many years, I have felt out of control of my professional destiny…taking on jobs and careers that were not authentic to who I am at my core. While I know that my end goal is to be doing something that mirrors me, I realize it will take some time. It will be completed in two phases…the first phase securing a salaried position…the second phase will result in me realizing a complete transformation into a career that best suits me. In 2012, I am done with lying to myself.

I aim to work on being less judgmental, less critical and more patient. I aim to work harder at being a better and attentive husband and father (even though, I think I am doing a pretty good job already).

I also aim to become a more spiritual person. I have danced around the idea and have dabbled a bit….but I want to learn more and become more involved – baby steps!

Due to financial pressures and some legitimate injuries, I have backed off on my yoga practice and my spinning. Not in 2012! I am dedicated to getting back on the horse and doing something that I considered challenging and highly beneficial and rewarding.

Weight loss is always a “biggie” when it comes to resolutions. Could I stand to lose some? Hell yes. But I am committed to not going on any weird diets or weight loss programs. I have already embarked on a small change to my diet and have been successful in feeling better. I will continue down this road without expectations.

Finally, I will live my life as presently and “in the moment” as is possible. I blog about it, think about, read other blogs about it and I believe it. So, I must continue to live it. I have learned not to stress over things (believe me, there have been many things to stress over) and I have learned to not worry about tomorrow or the day after. I have zero control over what’s ahead…I only have control over what is now. So, I will savour and enjoy what is now and what is happening around me in the present.

Are these goals set in stone? No. I am a fluid-kind-of-guy. Some of these goals might change or need to be amended..others might completely disappear and others might be newly added to the list.

What is for certain is that I am going to enjoy each and every moment of the next 365 days. I will take the good bumps with the bad and be an ever better version of me.

To all those who have read my blog over the past year…thanks. You are a steady, loyal…but silent bunch. I would love to hear more from you over the next year…to let me know you are out there and more importantly, what you are thinking.

Good riddance 2011….hello 2012!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Am I Going to Do in 2012?

  1. Debbie says:

    Love this post…
    Goal setting and naming your “WHY” is so important…

Leave a Reply

