Best Weekend!

I just had a “long weekend” that validates the belief that you don’t need to spend money on silly stuff to be happy or to enjoy life.

It all started on Friday when my wife took the day off from work. We got the kids off to school and then she and I did a yoga class together. We came home and my wife prepared a 71/2 pound brisket for the oven because later that night we were having a cousin and a dear friend over for dinner.

We then put on our walking shoes and headed out, stopping at our favorite coffee shop for a cup before slowly making our way home. We did some stuff around the house and had a small bite of lunch and proceeded to slowly get the house ready for our guests to arrive later that afternoon. Just the two of us….no kids.

We had an amazing dinner…ate great food, drank some nice wine (ok, maybe a bit too much nice wine…but that made it even more enjoyable)…and my two young daughters got to know their second cousin a bit better…something that was way overdue (another blog for another day).

Day two of our extended long weekend…had my wife and I slowly getting out of bed around 9:45 in the morning…unheard of…right? Our younger daughter woke up at her normal time and quietly found her way to the den and did the Saturday morning cartoon thing. My older daughter slept in (thats what teenagers do, right?)

We went on another shorter walk because we had to take our older daughter to her basketball game in the early afternoon. She had her mom, dad and little sister in the bleachers and we watched her team head to victory…which is always a nice thing.

A few more errands and then home until we made our way back out for an early dinner out with my father-in-law and my brother-in-law, his wife and my niece and nephews. It was a big, noisy table in an even bigger, louder restaurant. But it was fun as we celebrated my wife’s birthday and our 20th anniversary.

Back home…belly filled with good food and crawled my way back into bed…the best place to be!

Day 3…Sunday….another late start (woke up around 9:45) and saw that it was a lousy, rainy morning. So…no walk planned…BUT, a brunch to look forward to with dear friends at 12:30. The morning was spent at home, in bathrobes, catching up on a few chores to do around the house (empty the dishwasher, complete some laundry, remake some beds with freshly washed sheets….).

Brunch was great…the kids all got along and we had a chance to have some awesome laughs and conversation with our close friends.

Quick round of grocery shopping before finally headed to my parents place where my sister and her crew were there as well, to have another birthday/anniversary celebratory dinner. My father-in-law was invited along. More delicious food and conversation.

So…

What was the theme of this weekened and what is the point of this blog? Firstly, for the record, the theme and point of this blog has NOTHING to do with eating, although you would think that that was all we did. Yes, there was a lot of food consumed. But it was more to do with who we “broke bread” with.

The pace and flow of my weekend, which might sound mundane to some, indicates that simply slowing down and doing things with family and friends can be more satisfying and rewarding then dragging your ass around a shopping mall or in and out of stores buying crap you really don’t need.

We are well into the start of the holiday shopping season. This year, we won’t be able to take advantage of deep discounted sales on stuff because we are tight on funds. But, after a weekend like the one I just had…who really cares? No sale on clothing or electronics comes close to the pleasure and joy I had spending time doing the things I love most with the people I care most about.

I slept well, had a bit of exercise, had some quality time with my wife, saw some dear friends, reconnected with a relative that I have started becoming closer to in recent years and spent time with my family.

Did I have to stand in line waiting with a bunch of smelly strangers? Did I have to drive around looking for a parking space…frustrated and more stressed out with each lap around the parking lot? Did I have to buy stuff I didn’t need (the only stuff we spent money on this weekend was food…an essential item)

Life is busy. I know this. It is a fact and one that is sometimes unavoidable. That is why we must all do what we can to slow down the pace as often as possible and give ourselves the chance to live…to breathe…to enjoy and to experience the moment.

It was one of my best weekends ever!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

