Funk

The past couple of days I have not been practicing what I preach.

I admit it.

I have been in a funk and I don’t very much care for myself.

My normally jovial me has disappeared. My optimism and positive outlook on life has left the room.

I know that this is a short-term hiccup and I am confident that my “mojo” will come back. But for now, things are sucking…big time!

Does this ever happen to you? You are cruising along and then a series of events or interactions set you off your course?

Do you ever become overwhelmed where all you really want to do is hibernate?

Do you ever just want to roll over when the alarm goes off at an ungodly hour and go back to sleep?

I think its ok to occasionally have these interruptions in positivity. Hell, we are all human…aren’t we?

The big challenge is to push your way through them in a timely manner so you don’t get stuck.

Many of us get into these ruts; unable to get out of them due to bouts of depression. For them, that feeling of bleakness must be debilitating. Fortunately, there are things that can be done to help these people find their way through the depression (medication and therapy, for starters).

However, for the rest of us, these momentary roadblocks must be dealt with by using strong intestinal fortitude.

How do you stay positive? How do you maintain a good outlook on life?

How am I dealing with my funk (and I don’t mean, James Brown)?

While I don’t profess to be a guru and no, don’t expect a book from me anytime soon (although my father is a literary agent, so I do have some pull), I have taken a very practical approach to dealing with funks, stress and the not-so-nice bits that we all seem to encounter on a regular basis. Appreciating the beauty of nature and humanity is a great place to start.

Since we are nearing the end of fall and pretty soon the snow will fall, take in the beauty of the changing leaves…smell the freshness of a sun-filled fall day. Go for a walk in the park and take a look around you.

I am blessed and fortunate to have two amazing children who are spirited, innocent and love the crap out of me. The simple act of spending time with them is a sure-fire way to bring a big smile to my face and warmth to my heart. I have recently taken to playing “Crazy Eights” with my younger daughter. We always talk and laugh whenever we play, not really caring about who wins or loses our heated card games.

Seeing my teenaged daughter playing basketball and being at each game to encourage her and cheer for her reminds me of how silly it is to be down, negative and sad.

Look at the window and take a good peek around. There are so many amazing things that can bring a smile to your face on a daily basis.

Waking up next to my beautiful wife of almost 20 years reminds me of how fortunate I am to be loved by a woman who continues to support me and encourage me, especially over these past few years. I love being around her and simply hanging out together.

Being in a funk, if managed the right way, can be an opportunity to take stock in your life. To focus on the good parts (all the things that you have), versus all the things that you don’t have.

As we are beginning to see a fundamental shift in the way we live our lives and as we re-evaluate what is truly important in this life, many of us are starting to place less emphasis on “stuff” and “things” and placing more attention on “people”, “relationships” and our own well-being.

As I write this blog, I am reminding myself of all that I have and forgetting quickly about all that I don’t. The fog of this funk is dissipating. It was really a big waste of time.

Lesson learned.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

