How Was Your Week?

“This was such a long week!”

“Ugh, I cannot wait for this week to be over!”

Sound familiar?

Every week is seven days in length. Some are shorter because of statutory holidays on either the Friday or the Monday. But for the most part, we are talking seven days!

So, if the number of days are the same, week in and week out, why do some feel like they will never end and some feel like they have flown by?

Right now, I feel like I am in one of those weeks that just doesn’t seem to end. I don’t know why? Nothing happening this week out of the ordinary; no major events to speak of…no huge upheavals.

Maybe when things are going smoothly and there are no speedbumps in the road, we feel more in the moment; living presently at an appropriate pace.

Why would we want to wish for a week to go by any faster than it actually is? After all, once a day is over, its over. It cannot be brought back…its in the past….ancient history!

One day finished means another day closer to dying.

I just watched the memorial that Apple put on for their late, great visionary, Steve Jobs. I felt, while watching the video on You Tube, that Steve always seemed under the gun to get as much of life crammed into each day as possible. He had his own time clock, as we all do, I guess. Yet, it was like he intuitively knew that his own life was going to be cut short, making the importance that he placed on each day even greater than the rest of us. He seemed to live like each day was his last.

Maybe that is a morbid way of thinking but what an amazing way to approach life.

I have lamented in past blogs about the mathematics of a week. I have said that we have a tendency to live for the weekends instead of living for each day. Wishing for a week to be over says to me that you are wishing to get closer to the end of your life (I know that is probably not the case). But if we keep wishing for our weeks to end so we can slide into another weekend to re-charge, before you know it, we will be old, fragile and bitter.

Would it not be better instead, to get old gracefully having spent a lifetime filled with meaningful daily experiences?

I also don’t think that living each day to its fullest means cramming it with so much moving around and doing things that by the end of it, you pass out from sheer exhaustion. A fast paced lifestyle can be a potentially dangerous thing.

I believe that we all need to live each day fully aware of everything that we are experiencing as it is happening. Our nerve endings should be tingling as we live in each moment…be it in a business meeting interacting with other people, walking to the subway and being consciously aware of all the sights and sounds around us, feeling the weather over our skin and across our faces (regardless of how hot or cold it is). We should be witness to other people’s interactions with each other or for little moments that we often encounter each and every day that we normally take for granted (like walking with my younger daughter to school every morning and waiting with her for the bell to ring or my 13 year old daughter always asking me for a back tickle). All these little moments that we encounter over the course of a day, can add up to be a pretty full and rewarding day.

Do we sometimes have shitty days at work or have horrible commutes? Yes. But they are only shitty because we make them shitty. If you are stuck in the car in bumper-to-bumper traffic, use your hands-free and call a friend to catch up. Better yet, turn on the radio or put on your favorite song and sing out loud. If you have a run-in with someone at work, think about how they felt after it? Maybe something happened to them, through no fault of you, that triggered their reaction. Let it slide off you.

Each week is, was and always will be 7 days. How you choose to fill up those 7 days is your decision.

As I finish writing this blog, I have come to the end of my 100th posting.

Wow!

100 postings in almost one year since I launched this blog. As I re-read some of my earlier submissions, I am pleased that I have continued to stay “on message”. Am I fully enlightened? Not even close. Becoming enlightened is a life-long endeavor. Do I have a little more perspective on my own life since I started this blog almost a year ago? Yes. I have found writing this blog to be highly beneficial and extremely therapeutic. Sometimes it heals me. Sometimes it rids me of anger that I might be experiencing. Mostly, it reminds me of what my priorities should be. It reminds me of who and what are most important in my life.

I also hope that some of what I have written in these 100 blogs might have resonated with you. Good or bad, if I connected with you in some way, I am glad. If I made you shake your head in agreement or disagreement, I am glad. Maybe, in my journey to enlightenment, I have helped you in your own journey.

So, I plan on cracking open a nice bottle of red and raising a glass (only one glass…ok, maybe two!) to myself.

Here is to the next 100.

L’Chaim!

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

