OMG…The World Came to an End Today!

It kept flashing green….all day!

No vibrations felt….absolutely nothing.

Today, millions and millions of people were left walking their city streets stripped bare of the one thing that they have come to completely depend on – their Blackberry.

Yes, the world came to a grinding halt as millions of people were not able to access their emails on their Blackberrys, nor were they able to “BBM” (for those of you who are not Blackberry users that means Blackberry Messenger…which is a fancy way of texting).

Imagine the consequences and the repercussions. People who were on the road were stranded and not able to access emails until they returned to their office computer. Worse yet…Blackberry users could not instant message fellow Blackberry users. Imagine…not being able to communicate with another person with words on a tiny little computer screen!?!

I am a Blackberry user and fortunately, was close enough to my own computer where I was not affected by not being able to receive emails remotely. As for BBM’ing…I just texted those I really needed to stay in touch with (which in my case, are my children, who were at school).

If you haven’t sensed my sarcasm yet, clearly I am not doing a very good job and I am sorry.

For those of you have noticed my sarcastic tone…I take issue with the brouhaha over this Blackberry debacle and interruption of service. On the one hand, yes, Blackberry is to blame for the infrastructure breakdown that seems to have been far-reaching (Europe, India, parts of North America)…and as a company that provides a product that so many rely on, it clearly has a problem and hasn’t managed it too well.

On the other hand…holy crap, take a pill and lighten up! Poor little Blackberry users who had to resort to actually talking to people on a phone..or even worse…not responding to an email the second it was sent to them.

Oh, the humanity!!

Did the world come to a grinding halt? Did businesses go under? Did people get fired? Did the sun not rise in the sky? Did civilization cease to exist?

NO!

That’s right! I look at people’s response to the interruption of Blackberry service as being similar to a crack-addict not getting their fix or a coffee-aholic not getting their morning shot of java or a nicotine addicted smoker not having their morning cigarette.

Most people don’t remember that the Blackberry device or the concept of portably being able to send and receive emails didn’t really connect with North American users until 2003 (that is only 8 years ago). Before that, we had to sit in front of our computers and send emails. Worse yet, we had to wait by our computers to receive responses.

Before the portable devices, email really became popular in the early 1980’s and even then, wasn’t as widely used as it is now.

Do any of us remember what life was like before Blackberry’s and email and instant messaging? I do. I remember being able to get into my car and have a safe and uninterrupted drive from point A to point B without the need to talk to anyone (unless I was driving with someone or stopping at a Tim Horton’s drive thru to order a cup of coffee). I could actually listen to the radio or my favorite CD or audio cassette.

I was a student before emails became widely used, so I can’t really say I have any direct experience or recollections of what life was like. However, I do remember my father, who was an executive in the early 1980’s with a big company, winning a joke award for writing the most memorandums. “Memorandums” were messages sent to staff on pieces of paper. They were the precursor to the email.

Yes, we have come a long way in the past twenty to thirty years. Not only has the speed with which we interact increased, but the expectations others have of us to respond to these emails and instant messages has increased as well.

What is the hurry? Depending on who wrote the initial email, responding too quickly might send out the wrong message (desperation, kissing-ass…etc.). If we don’t respond fast enough, then it might be perceived that we aren’t doing our jobs. We can’t win!

Unless something must be communicated in a timely manner because of a deadline, I really don’t think that the world will come to an end if the email is not sent out or responded to right away.

We need to face the fact that we are addicted to these devices and we are addicted to receiving messages from others (even if they are simply messages between friends trying to make plans to meet).

My 13 year old daughter loves instant messaging with her friends…even more so than talking to them on the telephone.

When I was a kid, my older sister fought like hell to get a second phone line installed in our house so she could have privacy and be able to talk with friends in her own bedroom.

Either I am getting old or the world has gone and become too fast.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

