It’s ALL about the music!

There is no question that just like art, “music is in the ear of the beholder”. Different genres of music resonate with people on many different levels. Hearing an old song can take us back to a different time or place…to a period in our lives that gives us fond memories.

Certain songs I listen to remind me of summer camp, high school or maybe specific people from my past.

I have a fondness for a particular Simply Red album as it was all that my wife and I heard when we were on our honeymoon. They played the album over and over at the pool as we were laying in our chaise lounges, sipping delicious alcoholic beverages and enjoying being together. I can close my eyes as I hear the songs on that album and see Turks and Caicos.

I also have great memories of “Stairway to Heaven”, by Led Zeppelin and “American Pie” by Don MacLean. I had many wonderful slow dances at summer camp dancing to these songs. They would always play these two songs at the end of the social (dance). It didn’t matter that at one point during the song the tempo picked up. Boys and girls remained locked in “closeness” throughout the whole dance. Awwww….memories of my youth!!

Certain songs, so I have been told, are terrific for special situations. I have heard that Barry White is particularly good to listen to when feeling amorous and the sound of the Tamboura (an instrument) is great to listen to during meditation.

Because I spin alot, I have had the chance to hear all kinds of music played by instructors who teach these grueling and challenging 45-60 minute classes. Their musical selections are initially selected based on tempo (or beats per minute). As you move through a spinning class, your speed and intensity ebbs and flows…so too must the music.

Since I have been spinning, I have also become more selective of classes I take based on the instructor and their musical choices. A good instructor, in my opinion, is someone who motivates the class and who takes the time to carefully select their musical selections not simply on the music’s tempo and pacing. They might also consider if the song is timely or has lyrical content that is inspirational or motivational or is just plain GOOD!

Maybe because I am 45 and I grew up listening to classic rock from the late 60’s, 70’s and 80’s….there are very few songs out today that are really good (just my opinion).

In a recent class, we were headed into a challenging uphill climb…which usually means turning up the intensity or resistance on the bike, but slowing your pace down. The instructor selected “Freebird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd. The song lasted about 8 minutes and the climb was really hard. But, the song selection was perfect! It started off slow and built with intensity as the top of the hill got closer and closer. Plus, the song was really good. I have also “spun” to songs by AC/DC, Coldplay, The Stones and the Beatles that have really inspired me to push past what I am feeling as the lactic acid in my quadriceps builds up and pain and discomfort intensifies.

A good song will do that. It will keep you focused as you listen to the lyrics; maybe even singing along or listening to certain parts of the song like the guitar solo or the bass line. It will move you and send shivers up and down your spine (like the guitar solo by David Gilmour in Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd). That is the power of good music and that is the problem with much of the new music available these days. Modern music has become a commodity and not an art form like it once was. It is forgettable and disposable. Yes, there are some notable exceptions but they are few and far between.

Good music can lift you up emotionally and spiritually. It can inspire you, calm you and even make you sweat your guts out!!

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

