Are there any “enlightened” drivers out there?

OK…I need to vent and since this is my blog…I am hoping you will indulge me. Even if you won’t…too bad! (just kidding, I need all the readers I can get).

Living in a big city like Toronto can be a blessing and a curse.
We have great parks, great culture, great restaurants…I have been here all my life and I am certain there are parts of the city I have yet to experience.

However, Toronto, just like any other city, is filled with traffic, congestion and really, rude and inconsiderate drivers. In actual fact, inconsiderate drivers only add to the problems of traffic and gridlock in our fair city.

Drivers, for the most part, are either unfocused, selfish, inept or all of the above. I have also come to the conclusions that there is a distinct correlation between selfish acts of automotive behavior and people who own (or lease) pricey automobiles (ie. BMW, Mercedes, Porsche, Jags, Rolls Royces, Bentleys and all of those really necessary “little-man syndrome” cars like Ferrari’s, Lamborghini’s and Aston Martin’s”). If I have left any other fancy cars out, include them too!

My hypothesis is that people who drive uber-expensive cars have absolutely no regard for proper road etiquette nor the laws that govern our city streets….period!

I live on the outskirts of a very fancy and expensive neighborhood in Toronto. Houses in this area start at about $2 million and go up from there. Mercedes Benz and BMW are as common in this neighborhood as mini-vans are in the suburbs…a dime a dozen!

There is a small retail village in the middle of this exclusive area that has restaurants, banks, conveniences and boutiques. Many people flock to the village to buy bagels, stop at the coffee shop or just hang out. Its a place to be seen!

I have decided that this is a fairy-village because in this little village there are no rules. Pretty people driving fancy Range Rovers will pull illegal three-point turns or u-turns right in the middle of this busy street just to nab that perfect spot outside Starbucks to show off their freshly detailed “Bimmer” or because they are just that lazy that they can’t park their car further away and simply walk. Must be the Christian Louboutin’s hurting their feet. Turn indicators, which I always thought were standard on all vehicles, clearly are optional on expensive cars because their owners never seem to use them.

There seems to be a sense of superiority and a lack of respect for not only the law but all the rest of us. I really don’t care what kind of car you drive or how expensive it is. They all do the same thing…get you from point A to point B. However, I do have a problem when the owners of these cars simply don’t care one way or another about how their selfish road behavior and utter disregard for the next person potentially impacts my ability to travel safely to my destination.

The worst part of it? Nothing I can say or do seems to stop them. I can sit on my horn until I drain my car battery, I can roll my window down and shout expletives at them until I am hoarse….parking enforcement officers can write them ticket after ticket after ticket. It doesn’t seem to stop them. They have wealth and arrogance and will continue to do what they do because they can.

You may think that I let it get to me; that I grip the steering wheel so tightly with anger and rage that I bend it with my own super-human strength. You may think that I lay awake at night thinking about all the morons I run into during my daily travels throughout the city.

I don’t.

Its my pet peeve. I try, as an Enlightened Male and a respectful member of society, to be aware of people around me and also aware of my vehicular activity so as not to endanger anyone or piss them off. I am not perfect…but compared to these fools, I am the Pope.

As Frank Costanza likes to say, “Serenity Now. Serenity Now”.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

