Three Little Words

In my home, there are three tiny little words that sometimes make me want to pull out the remaining strands of graying hair that I have on the top of my head (for the record, I have more than just a few strands….just trying to make a point!).

Three little words that illicit such emotion and rage!

I always thought the three little words were, “I love you”.

No…not the case! These three words are heard in my home on an almost daily basis.
Here are a few examples:

“Molly, turn off your phone and get ready for bed”.
“In a minute, dad”.

“Annie, put your shoes on we are going to be late”.
“In a minute, dad”.

“Annie, clean up your stuff and please go take a shower”.
“In a minute, dad”.

“Molly, get out of the bathroom, I think you are done in there”.
“In a minute, dad”.

Starting to make sense? Do you catch my drift? Are you hip to my jive?

IN A MINUTE! Those are the three little damn words!

If I had a minute for every time those three annoying little words escaped from my beautiful children’s lips and tack them on to the back-end of my life, I would have an extra three years to live!!

What burns me up even more is what they need the extra minute for, which usually relates to watching something really significant (not!) on television, finishing a magazine in the bathroom long after their business has been taken care of or not wanting to get out of bed because they went to bed too late the night before.

If “in a minute” was an excuse given for a good reason, say, maybe because they had to finish washing the dishes, or they were finishing the last chapter of a really great book or folding the laundry or cleaning up their room or making their bed, I would give them all the time they need….no questions asked!

When will the importance of time begin to have more meaning to them? When will punctuality become an issue? When will “in a minute” not work?

I have dreamt of ways I could fight fire with fire; how I could incorporate the phrase “in a minute” into my everyday vernacular so that they could get a dose of their own medicine.

When they were much younger, the need for feeding them was always a huge issue because otherwise, they would have meltdowns. Now, its a bit different because they are older and have more control. If they are hungry and want to be fed, they are quite capable of finding themselves something to eat. It might not be the smartest choice, but at least its enough to take the edge off. So, I can’t say “in a minute” when they beg to be fed. So that idea is shot.

Maybe I should take a cookie jar and have them put a piece of paper in it every time they utter those three words. Each piece of paper represents one minute. At the end of each week, we count up the number of minutes they have accumulated and then take that off their bedtime. Nah, they never seem to go to bed on time as it is, so that won’t work.

Maybe I could use that same idea but use money instead of time so that at the end of each week, they could actually wind up owing my wife and I money! Nah, they both don’t have pots to piss in and neither of them are old enough to work.

I think I should just maybe turn a deaf ear to their three little words and reply with the three little words that I like more, “I love you”.

I look at “in a minute” as very valuable time being wasted. Could be an age thing. Afterall, I am 45 and have already been branded as “middle-age” by my younger daughter. My girls are 13 and 10…they have years and years and years ahead of them. At the end of the day, what’s a few extra minutes wasted here or there?

Stay tuned…next week’s three little words are “I don’t know”!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three Little Words

  1. Lisa Barkin says:

    How about the three little words, “its not my fault”? Everytime I hear the words I clench my teeth… THEN I pause and EXHALE. 🙂

  2. Lisa Barkin says:

    So is “Its not my fault”, lol. Its funny how 3 or 4 simple words can just drive us around the bend. My favourite word: BREATH.

  3. Lisa Barkin says:

    Me too!

Leave a Reply

