Outcome versus Process

The late, great and fabulous Freddie Mercury of the rock group, Queen, once penned the lyrics, “I want it all and I want it now”.

Maybe his lyrics were a reflection of the period of time in which they were written…a society consumed with consumption and instant gratification. While that song was written in the late 80’s, I still believe that as a society, we are programmed for and seek immediate results.

This can be seen in all aspects of our lives; in everything from rapid weight loss to overused credit cards to internet speed to business deals. If anything, I think “we want it all and we want it yesterday!”

I have learned through my practice of yoga that while we are all “outcome” driven, a process almost always occurs and if followed properly usually results in a positive outcome.

While I like the Queen song, I believe the phrase “all good things come to those who wait”, might be a more appropriate way of living a life.

Yoga is called a practice because it takes a lifetime to perfect – and sometimes, even a lifetime is not long enough! While I have come a long way from my first time on the mat almost 4 years ago, I have much more to learn and understand about my practice and I don’t expect to have it all figured out anytime soon. Patience and dedication are the keys to the practice of yoga. Each and every time I come to the mat to practice yoga, I know that there will be things to learn, poses to improve on and poses that I will struggle with. I know that each and every time I further my practice, the experience will be new and different and never fully complete. That is why yoga is a life long process. I don’t compare my practice to previous visits to the mat, nor do I compare my practice to others around me. I know that in my practice of yoga, I must be patient and must be dedicated because the only way to progress is through the process of the practice. I am thrilled with my accomplishments to date but know that I have only begun to understand and learn about all that yoga has to offer to my life. The ability to successfully practice yoga is the result of the process of understanding its many postures and guiding principles.

Much can be learned from yoga and can be applied to other aspects of our lives, if we allow ourselves to slow down and understand that life is a process. I think we have just forgotten this. We all went to school…which began in nursery school and continued through the primary grades into middle school, high school and finally post-secondary. School was part of the process preparing us to enter the working world which allows us to earn income for the necessities (and sometimes non-necessities) of life. In some cases the process of education extends for several years for those pursuing a career as a doctor or a lawyer.

The process of education is the most fundamental example of how embracing the process will ultimately provide us with the greatest chance of a positive outcome. It starts at an early age and is embedded in us.

Successfully finding our sole mate is a process too. Over a long period of time, we develop and hone our personalities, belief-system, interests and determine the kind of person that we are attracted to. For many of us, by the time we reach our mid to late twenties (sometimes younger, sometimes older), we are in a position to know exactly what we want in a sole mate. We hope that the years of experience (or the process of our own personal evolution), will lead to a positive outcome and a long-lasting relationship.

So, why then, have we lost our grasp of this concept? Why the need to rush the process for quicker results? Why the urgency? Could it be because of the proliferation of technology in our everyday lives that has made us realize that we can achieve results faster with its use? Speed doesn’t necessarily provide us with the proper perspective to make informed choices or to discover things about ourselves in an organic way.

Not that I want to be known as the “poster-child” for yoga nor do I feel that all of a sudden I have become wise (hey, that does come with age), but the practice of yoga has made me slow down, place faith in the process and rely on it for an outcome that I know will be beneficial in so many ways that all of my effort will be well worth it.

Spending the past four years talking with my “spiritual psychotherapist” has also shown me how important it is to follow a process, to discover and work on issues as I go deeper and deeper into who I am.

P.S….to all my fellow yogis, after four years of practicing yoga, I just today did my first successful “crow pose”….it took a process and a ton of sweat to get to this point, but the outcome was a huge success for me!

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outcome versus Process

  1. Lisa Barkin says:

    I love this post. Congrats, congrats, congrats! Crow accomplished.

Leave a Reply

