Stop that racket!

How often do you see people talking out loud to themselves?
I don’t know about you but my normal reaction after staring at them, is to cross the street as quickly as possible in the hopes that they won’t decide to come after me.

Silly reaction? Yes and not very tolerant to boot!

But, in all likelihood, they are having a conversation with their inner voice; the little voice inside of all of us that we talk to on a daily basis.
I am not too fond of my inner voice because more times than not, my inner voice keeps me from being the most complete and fulfilled person I can be. It keeps me from daring to try new things and from feeling good about myself and having the confidence I need to go out and conquer the world.

I first learned in detail about my inner voice about 3 years ago when I attended a controversial course called the Landmark Forum.
While there is a lot to say about Landmark which I will save for another day and another blog, I will say that it taught me about something called a “racket”; that nagging voice inside of you that tells you all the reasons why you aren’t good enough, smart enough, attractive enough or wise enough to have everything in life that you are entitled to. My racket keeps me from being my ideal body weight, going after that job I think I am qualified for or from striking up a conversation in a social gathering at a business function – many of the things in life that I can only dream about and never realize, not because I am not capable of achieving them but because my racket says I can’t or finds excuses not to.

A racket is a saboteur…its like a virus that infects everything it comes into contact with and fills it with self-doubt and feelings of low self-esteem.

I had always thought or was led to believe that you should always listen to your inner voice; that your inner voice can be your guide in making decisions in life.
I am beginning to realize that I should be taking my what inner voice says with a grain of salt.

If anything, I should be listening to what my inner voice says and do the complete opposite. Hell, it worked for George Costanza on Seinfeld; don’t you remember the episode where nothing is working for George? He is out of a job, lives with his parents and has no girlfriend…life basically sucks for Georgie-boy.
Jerry suggests to him that if he starts making decisions that are counter to what he is used to doing, his life should change for the better. So he gives it a shot. He orders chicken salad on rye un-toasted and has no problem going up a beautiful woman in the restaurant telling her that he is unemployed and lives with his parents. Life changes…she takes a shining to him and not only that, this whole new approach to life gets him a job with his beloved New York Yankees.

George stopped listening to his inner voice and following old habits that weren’t getting him anywhere.

I know George Costanza is a fictitious character on a fictitious television show but his problem resonates with many of us (maybe thats why the show was such a success).

Life isn’t holding us back from realizing our dreams or preventing us from living the kind of life we are each entitled to live; we are holding ourselves back! I have to admit its been holding me back. The longer we listen to our rackets the more comfortable we become living inside this kind of existence.

Imagine that our inner voice is a giant brick wall. Imagine not having any clue what its like on the other side of the wall? Imagine finally being on the other side of the wall; free from the prison of an unfulfilled life? The thought is scary and exhilarating at the same time. That’s what change is….scary as hell but filled with incredible possibility.

Ahhhh…I feel the winds of change are coming and I am excited. I am filled with positivity and intend on putting those positive vibes out there because just like that nasty inner voice, positivity is infectious.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stop that racket!

  1. Enlightened one, you have hit paydirt. I too, have a racket in my head and can tell you it will slow you down. But once you realize the racket is to be ignored, you can do so much more. Cheers for the discovery and good luck with the enlightened you.

Leave a Reply

