Done like dinner!

I am tired, my shoulders are tight and I think I am done. Even my creative juices are less…juicy!

This vacation could not be coming at a better time.

I find myself getting very tired during the day and generally feel unmotivated and uninspired.
I have lost that lovin’ feeling and that normal spring in my footstep seems to have sprung!

I need a vacation!!

I don’t like feeling this way and am very aware of how I feel…which I guess is one of the benefits of therapy…I have become very self-aware!
I tend to get this way when I have run out of gas and running on vapors. Fortunately, a vacation always seems to come at the right time. But hey, is there really ever a bad time for a vacation?

I am very fortunate that I have the opportunity to get away with my family…in fact, I don’t like to normally talk about it with others because I know how many people are not able to take time off to go anywhere outside their own town. I have extended family members who are always generous and one way or another, we all seem to wind up vacationing in the winter together.

“Stay-cations” have never really worked for me…because I am physically too close to all the reasons I need a vacation in the first place. It’s too convenient to check in for messages at the office or annoying phone calls at home from people I don’t really want to talk to. And what about the mail? Bills suck…hugely!! The sameness of being in the town that I live…encountering the same city streets, the same traffic, the same weather – the same environment, in my mind, defeats the purpose of a vacation. Doesn’t the word “vacation” come from the latin word “vacate” which means “to leave”?

In my mind, physically removing myself from all those stresses and relocating to some place different…ideally as far away as possible, is what a vacation is. True, it doesn’t have to be some place hot…heading up north to ski country is always a nice way to change the scenery. However, no one in my family skis and quite honestly, this has been one nasty, bitter-cold winter.

No, it has to be heat. It has to be beach and it has to be south!

I know its going to take a few days to begin to feel the effects of the vacation. I know that the stress of settling in can be difficult, especially when kids are involved and all they really wanna do is just go swim and frolic and chill as soon as possible. Believe me, I would love to do the same..but as an adult, I have to help unpack, make the beds, get the food from the supermarket and THEN, maybe hit the beach or the pool with my books, sunscreen and Ipod close by.

But it’s ok…because the most I will be thinking about is “what we going to do this afternoon?”, “what are we going to eat for dinner?”, “what is the weather going to be like for tomorrow?”. I won’t be thinking that much about “did I return that phone call?”, “did I pay that bill?” or “is it recycling or garbage this week?” Those thoughts will always be there..but will not be front and centre.

By about the third day, I should be in 100% vacation mode. I will have felt the sun’s rays on my body, maybe even have the start of a tan, will have probably slept really well and begun to settle in to the routine of no routine.

Damn, could I ever get used to this. I have always said to my wife that we really do need to win the lottery because work has just never agreed with me..its just not my cup of tea.

So, I will be signing off today until my return from holidays in a few weeks. I will miss sharing my thoughts with you but hope to be filled with tons of new fodder to unload once I am back from vacation.

In the meantime, I hope that whatever you do on your spring vacation is truly relaxing…that it allows you to pause, to breathe in and out and to re-charge you…no matter what it is you do or wherever it is you go.

If you are not taking any time off…set an intention to do something that gives you that same sense of calm and peace…go to the gym, take a walk in a park, read a book, meditate…whatever it takes.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

