Laugh

As we celebrate Valentines Day…a silly day that reminds us to recognize and acknowledge those that we adore and love (which we should do every day!), The First Lady of the United States, Michelle Obama, recently said that one of the secrets to the success of her 19 year marriage to Barack is laughing. Laughter has taken the first couple successfully through many life stresses and has allowed them to not take themselves so seriously.

Coincidentally, I have been married for 19 years to an amazing woman who brings me much joy and happiness.
There is nothing I enjoy more than laughing and hearing my beautiful wife Risa let out a good belly laugh.

She loves a good chuckle and usually gets the greatest joy from making our kids laugh. Sometimes she torments them with tickles to the point of making our younger daughter get the hiccups.

She loves watching anything British and particularly adores a good comedy. But she also likes slapstick and physical comedy and we will often watch stand up comedians on TV occasionally leaving us in stitches.

She laughs when I do something goofy or when I break into uncontrollable bouts of laughter. When I get hysterical, I scream and cry and always wind up with sore belly muscles. She happens to find this extremely funny and laughs alongside me.

Sometimes when we do yoga class together, we will both find the same thing amusing about something that happened during the class…turning to each other, immediately fighting to hold back our desire to just burst into fits of laughing.

Just like any married couple, we will sometimes have disagreements….mostly over the silliest of things (so often the case…am I right?). What has happened over time, is that our disagreements will end as we both poke fun at each other…turning a quick quarrel into a long laugh.

Laughter….its all about laughter.

With our marriage hitting the 20 year mark this November, laughter has taken the edge off of many stressful life events and challenges, especially over the past few years.

We have both learned that fighting over silly things achieves nothing. While someone might win, someone always loses. Our marriage is a partnership and not a competition, so it is essential for us to both be winners because we are both in this together.

So, as we head into Valentines Day…let this posting be dedicated to my beautiful Risa. Her beautiful green eyes dazzle me…her intelligence and personality mesmerize me…her love and devotion to our children inspire me, her smile (athough I call it a grin..since she doesn’t like to show her teeth when she smiles…huge mistake) melts me and her laughter soothes me.

I am now raising a cyber-glass of champagne to my lovely wife….Happy Valentines Day, sweetheart.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laugh

  1. Debbie Donsky says:

    Love this…
    “We have both learned that fighting over silly things achieves nothing. While someone might win, someone always loses. Our marriage is a partnership and not a competition, so it is essential for us to both be winners because we are both in this together.”

    She is beautiful and worth toasting. I join in that and raise a glass to both of you! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Jen says:

    Awwhhh and congrats!!!

  3. Pingback: For The Love Of Laughter | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

