The “home thing” rocks

Over the past couple of days I have been working from home. I am expected to return to the “office” on Thursday.

I have been working on my real estate update courses that I am required to take to maintain my license. I am also scouring the net in search of possible job opportunities that might be of interest me. While there aren’t that many to respond to,the peace and quiet of my empty house has allowed me to focus on plowing through very dry course material. I have a few more courses to complete and am looking forward to tomorrow to make an even bigger dent in the material.

I gotta tell you..this “stay at home to work” thing is really awesome!! Besides driving my daughter, Molly, to school this morning..I haven’t used my car for anything, nor have I gone out to spend money (that I don’t have) on anything. The only place I ventured yesterday and today was my yoga/spinning studio for some personal mental and physical health time.

How weird is it to not be in an office environment working during the work week? About ten years ago, I was in a similar position. I had left my own business and was out of work for about a year. The vibe was different..since I was collecting EI and dreading it. This time its a bit different probably because I am working. I am also in a different “place” in terms of my own priorities and emphasis on well-being.

But, going to yoga class yesterday and a cardio workout class today (two days of the work week, mid-morning) was an absolute trip!!

As I walked up to my my studio, which is 5 minutes away from my house, I saw all the cars travelling past me, people clearly on their way to meetings or work destinations. Here I was, with a 4 day beard growth, wearing yoga pants and a tshirt..on my way to work out. Me and all the stay-at-home yummy mummy’s…working out together. Weird…but something I could really get used to!

The pace of the past few days has been completely different to anything that I am used to. Even getting up at the same hour isn’t as painful, knowing that all I have to do is throw on some clothes, brush my teeth and not have to worry about dressing appropriately or enduring the madness of the morning commute.

That being said, working from home, is not as easy as it seems. As I shared my temporary schedule with a mom at my daughter’s school whom I ran into when I went to pick up my kid from school, working from home takes incredible dedication and focus. There are a ton of distractions that are very hard to avoid. They include: the fridge, the computer, the television and all those household projects and cleaning chores that need to get done. Even worse, I can only imagine how hard it is to work from home when the weather is warm and sunny and the outdoors seem to be calling out to you. That must be brutal!

I know myself and I can say with complete honesty, that while I love this kind of existence, I don’t think I could pull it off. I love not working. A huge admission…but I am being completely honest. I could easily screw around on the computer, watch TV or go to spinning/yoga classes all day, every day. I could go for walks on bright sunny days or take my bike out for a spin if the weather was warm and bright. How could I really sit at home and work when there are so many better things to do? Life’s too short…right?

To all of you who are entrepreneurs and consultants, who have home offices…please, share with me..how do you do it?

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “home thing” rocks

  1. Sam Title says:

    I don’t work from home because if all those distractions you listed…and more!

    I work from my local Starbucks, which I, and countless others, refer to as my coffice.

    WAY better than working from home!

    Dare you to try it…

    Good post…

    Sam Title, Chief Executive Cofficer
    The Coffice
    Facebook.com/thecoffice
    Twitter.com/thecoffice

Leave a Reply

