Yoga Etiquette 101

OK. I know I need to be more tolerant of others and that I shouldn’t judge people. These are things that I am working on and will probably continue to work on for the rest of my life. However, I do have some legitimate beefs that I need to get off my chest and put into the universe. If you don’t agree with me, then to hell with you (only kidding, I need as many readers as I can get and can’t afford to lose any).

The practice of yoga is meant to not only encourage physical activity and movement but also spirituality and mindfulness. That being said…ever since I began practicing yoga almost four years ago, I have witnessed some behaviors amongst my fellow yogis that sometimes piss me off and since I have a blog…I thought I would share them with you. If you have some of your own “yoga-peeves”, please feel free to “vent”!

These “yoga peeves” all surround etiquette…in the same way when someone is chatting with you and their cell phone rings, how they quickly blow you off because the person on the other end of their cell phone is presumably more important….or how someone standing in line in front of you at your favorite coffee shop, who is mindlessly blabbing on their cell phone, doesn’t have the courtesy to interrupt or stop their phone call as they place their coffee order. Catch my drift?

Yoga peeve #1 – when I lay my mat out on the floor, I don’t appreciate someone else walking on it. I really don’t need someone else’s smelly or dirty feet walking across the mat that I just cleaned and disinfected. Here’s an idea…walk around it!

Yoga peeve #2 – coming late to class is a big one for me. Usually at the start of our practice, the yoga instructor has us chant “OM” or create an intention or dedication. This allows us to begin focusing inward. To disrupt this by having someone come in late or to require someone else to shift over to make room for them is kind of annoying. Most yoga studios suggest arriving a few minutes early to set up. Just like anything other time-sensitive commitment in life (medical appointments, work, business meetings), punctuality is appreciated.

Yoga peeve #3 – really simple…if you are sick…don’t come to yoga!! None of us need you to spread your germs and infect all of us. Hearing you evacuate your nose and leave your snot-infested Kleenex on the floor next to you is just gross. We also don’t need you coughing up a lung. I have often overheard people say, “I have a cold but I thought it would be good to come to yoga to sweat it out of me”. Here’s an idea, curl up on the couch or in your bed, in your warmest pyjamas, make a cup of green tea and STAY HOME!!

Yoga peeve #4 – turn the ringer off your phone!!! How annoying is it to release into “savasna’, only to have someone’s phone vibrating or ringing in their purse (yes, ladies…its mostly you…no offense).

I don’t mean to bitch and whine, but ladies and gentlemen, this is just plain and simple common sense!! Please understand that yoga is one of my few havens to escape…to enjoy the calm that can be often created by the practice. While I know that many instructors encourage us to focus inward and try to disregard any external activity, it is sometimes difficult to do when all this annoying crap is going on. I promise to be mindful of all these little habits if you stay mindful too. Deal?

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga Etiquette 101

  1. Hey Judy…are you reading these things? Cool…I hope you are well…what are you up to these days?

Leave a Reply

