What do I want to be when I grow up?

When you were younger, when did you know for sure, what you wanted to be when you grew up?
What were the events or circumstances that lead you to your big “a-ha” moment? Did you even have an “a-ha” moment?
Was it just assumed by your own family’s history that you were going to be a doctor, for example, because generations before you were doctors too?
Did you work in a family business during your youth knowing that you were being groomed to take it over when your parents or grandparents had enough of it?

Are you still searching for the answer to that question, “what do I want to be when I grow up?”

You are not alone. I include myself as one of many, who are still searching for the answer to that question. The difference is, that question I asked myself when I was a kid is still unanswered as an adult. It is something I think about every day.

I have been working, in a variety of roles and industries, for many, many years at things that don’t give me the satisfaction or passion I require. Often times, we take on jobs or careers paths out of necessity…not by choice. Usually the job provides an income and as we take on more responsibilities in life, (a house and children being the two biggest) it becomes more about those things than about choosing a career that provides you with complete satisfaction or passion.

However, its not all doom and gloom, fellow satisfying-career-seekers! Its never too late to find what you are looking for, even if you don’t quite know what it is.

I am a believer in karma and positivity and I meet each day with optimism and hope. This, admittedly, is the result of considerable effort I have put into myself over the past 4-5 years through self-examination and work on my physical and emotional well-being. I believe that each and every day, I am getting closer to that “a-ha” moment, when that haze of confusion and lack of clarity dissipates and I discover my professional passion; something that I love to do and leap out of bed each day to dive into.

I know it’s out there! All I need to do is look at my father, who is in his mid seventies to see that it is possible to have that passion. My father has had several careers over his many working years but seems most happy right now as a Literary Agent and Consultant. He works on his own, out of his home and seems to talk about all the exciting stuff he is involved with all the time. Initially, I thought that he is a workaholic and should really slow down and enjoy all the things that life has to offer outside of work. But it has recently occurred to me that he doesn’t look at what he does as work….instead, beyond his passion for his wife and family, this is his other passion and he embraces it that way.

My father is not a wealthy man…but seems to be perfectly content with what he has. His journey has resulted in being blessed by finding his life’s work; albeit past the mid-way point of his life. I have considerable hope and optimism that the apple won’t fall too far from the tree!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

