Winter…love it or loathe it?

Why do I hate thee, winter…let me count the ways! Not a huge fan of winter. I hate having to take additional time to put on layers to stay warm. I hate having to shovel my walkway and steps leading to the house, I hate having to scrape the layers of ice on my frozen windshield, I hate the salt stains left behind in my car and in my house. I hate having to trudge through deep snow and that dirty, wet brown stuff that looks like pea soup. I hate when the wind blows intensely cold air and I have to gasp to try to breathe. I hate how many people get flu and colds during the wintertime. I hate how everything looks grey and depressing during winter. I hate how snow can paralyze a city and its motorists.

The only time I like winter, is when there has been a major blizzard and the City shuts down. I have to stay home because its too brutal to drive anywhere and I am able to remain in the comfort of my toasty bathrobe – complete with a nice glass of red wine, lounging around all day.

If I had it my way, the entire city of Toronto would be contained under a large glass dome; temperature-controlled, protecting it and its citizens from the snow and cold; re-directing this weather to where it is better served – ski hills and as far north as possible.

Winter is best, when its gone!

Snow and winter are a nuisance. But, kids don’t seem to feel the same way. It amazes me that regardless of how much snow falls or how bitter cold it gets, young children always love to frolic in the snow. I never like to burst my kid’s bubble when they get excited about a new snow fall. To them, its an opportunity to play. They love to build snowmen (women), have snowball fights, go sledding and make snow angels.

When did I fall out of love with snow? I do have fond memories going sledding with my sister and father when I was younger. I even took a stab at alpine skiing and remember some terrific family trips to northern Ontario. However skating was not my strength as I was a serious ankle skater.

So when did the bloom fall off the rose? Probably when I had to start to “deal” with winter as opposed to merely “enjoy” it. It could have been when I was old enough to shovel the driveway, or when I had to walk about two miles from the subway station coming from home downtown during a blizzard because the buses couldn’t navigate the steep hill on their way from the station to my bus stop. It could have been earlier when I was a kid playing in the playground and some bully doofus came along and gave me a “whitewash” (when you either get your face shoved in snow or someone takes a gloveful of snow and shoves it in your face) OR…it could have been the time when I was playing ball hockey (I was the goalie) with some older boys on our street and one of them took a slapshot with a very cold and iced-over tennis ball acting as our puck and it hit me right in the “boys”.

While I don’t recall exactly when the tides of change occurred, I just know they did and while I will never deny my own children the opportunity to enjoy their experience with winter, for me, I just can’t stop counting the days until spring!

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

