Girls versus Boys

I have two amazingly wonderful young daughters and I am thankful every day for having them in my life. They are vibrant human beings, filled with promise, who fill my days with joy!

But, why did I have girls? I know why and how I had two children. My wife and I were blessed and had no complications with either pregnancy. Everything went according to plan, except we never planned to have two girls. We were always of the belief that so long as they were healthy, we didn’t really care what we had. So then, why didn’t we have two boys, or one of each?

Have you ever asked yourself the same question?

Was there something going on a much higher level that my wife and I had no knowledge of that determined what sex both our children would be?

As an aspiring “Enlightened Male”, I would like to hypothesize that I was meant to have two daughters. I cannot imagine my life being a father of two sons. While I realize its because I don’t know any different, I base my theory on what I know about myself; my disposition, my personality, my character make-up…and when I analyze it, I see a daddy of girls..not boys. I could be and probably am, a “metrosexual”…and I am totally fine with it.

Let me put my cards on the table; here are some basic facts about me:

1) I am not into sports
2) I don’t mind shopping (just don’t have the money to do it all the time!)
3) If given the choice to join a conversation with a group of women or a group of men, I would gravitate towards the women (assuming they allow me to join in),
4) I like watching “What Not To Wear”
5) I am into yoga and spinning

For the record, no, I am not gay…not that there is anything wrong with that!!

I just happen to relate better to women then to men. As a result, I feel even more connected to my daughters. Now, whose to say what would happen if I did have a son or what kind of father I would be to him, but because of a little procedure I had done several years ago…I am not overly concerned about a “little Enlightened boy” running around my household anytime soon.

I understand the “drama” of little girls, the head games that they sometimes play, the “American Girls” obsession…I even get the love affair with Justin Bieber. When my family vacations in Florida every March, I love tagging along with my girls to the mall checking out all the cool clothing stores that they love so much. I have even been known to go for pedicures with my daughters!!

Throwing a baseball around or knowing trivial baseball player statistics or thinking LeBron James is a basketball god…just doesn’t resonate with me…I don’t “get it”.

Its my job, as an “Enlightened Male” to think about stuff like this. Now I am asking you to do the same. I eagerly await your comments.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Girls versus Boys

  1. Debbie Donsky says:

    I think that you had two girls because you had two girls. There might be a grand plan for this being the case but this I know for sure…

    If you had a boy or two boys you would have been a wonderful father to them too…teaching them the importance of being connected to all sides of who you are…treating women like gold…caring about your appearance…and always closing the cupboards in the kitchen.

    You are one of the best Steve and any person who can call you daddy, husband, friend or family is blessed.

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

