2011…the year of living “rut-free”!

When I started this blog back in early December, I just began writing, without rhyme or reason…not really explaining the reasons for doing this. I began talking about stuff that resonated with me in the hopes that it would connect with others who might be in a similar head space.

After four years of therapy and all of these thoughts and feelings running through my head, I just thought it was time to “vent”.

So, here I am on blog entry number 19 and I can say that not only am I enjoying this, but I can also say that maybe I am kinda good at it. The feedback I have been receiving from some of the people following this blog have been very encouraging. I have been searching for a very long time for a vocation that I can feel passionate about. Up until now, the only passion I have ever felt is towards my wife and children. My “mojo” never really stirred for anything else.

Have you ever felt stuck in a rut and didn’t know what to do to get out of it? Maybe the rut was career-based. I have been working for a long time, never really with any passion or interest in what I was doing. I simply worked to make money to try to pay the bills and put food on the table. I think I am like a lot of people out there who are part of the population called “the working dead”. They get up and go to work every day but are so filled with anger and bitterness because they work out of necessity not because they are passionate about what they do. It could be because they never realized a dream when they were younger and think it is too late to start over now or because they never knew what their true calling really was.

My therapist suggested to me one day that I consider a career path that involves helping people; a therapist, HR or as a life coach. I always pushed back on any of these ideas because they require re-tooling or re-educating myself and it would take considerable time and money, the latter being in short supply these days.

She pointed out to me that all the excuses I gave her were lame and that there was no real reason why I could not re-invent myself again. But it occurs to me now that up until this point, I have re-invented myself several times. I have gone from an education in Radio and Television to working in the hospitality and retail sectors, to the trade show industry and currently the real estate industry. Why can’t I re-invent myself again?

The only thing holding me back is me (and some scratch). But, I have learned that there is always a way to find money. So really, its up to me.

So, here we are, the start of the second decade of the new millennium and I feel more optimistic and poised for positive change then I have felt in recent years. Maybe this will be THE year…will it be YOUR year?

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

