The Last Blog of 2010…I swear!!

Fortunately, I have been off on Christmas holidays since the 17th. In that time, I have shaved twice and I love it.

The home stretch is in sight, as we get closer to the end of the week, with school and some sense of routine to return to our household starting January 3rd.

In some ways I am sad that this break is coming to an end, but not for the reasons you would expect. Sure, I get to sleep in every day and turned off my alarm clock that normally blasts at 6:10 am every morning. Sure, traffic levels around town have been lighter than normal. Sure, I have been prone to taking the occasional late afternoon nap. Sure, I have been taking yoga/spinning classes almost every day.

The parts that I will probably miss the most are the periods of time spent with my wife and children.

There have been some days during this holiday, where we have spent the majority of our time at home and in our pajamas or “comfy clothes”. We watched movies together, we ate our meals together, we played Scrabble together, and we even did a little homework together. Occasionally, we got pissed-off with each other. But in doing all of these things, we also got reacquainted with each other.

Family time over the holidays is like living in a bubble – no outside distractions or pressures, no school or work. The biggest task we would often have to worry about was what to eat for dinner.

As I said in my earlier blog about my date with my “hanging buddy”, Annie, not once during the break did I think about all the things that upset me or cause me concern such as career-path expectations, finances or the other million things that float around my mind at any given time. My attention was on the here and now…living and experiencing each moment with my wife and children.

Sometimes my kid’s bickering or complaining would creep beneath my skin or my wife and I would have words over the silliest of things and my patience was sometimes taken to task. But at the end of the day, I wouldn’t have given any of it up. I never wished that the day would end and that tomorrow couldn’t come soon enough because there will never be another tomorrow that is the same as today.

I love each of these people. I depend on each of these people. These people make me feel safe, warm, appreciated and loved. To not want to spend time with them would be like me trying to operate a car without any gas. My life would not be possible without them.

So, as we finish off 2010, take a moment to look around the room at your family. Don’t count down the days to when the kids are back in school or when you can escape to work to enjoy a little peace and quiet. Don’t wish it away….embrace it!!

Happy New Year….see you in 2011.

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Blog of 2010…I swear!!

  1. Risa miller says:

    I could not have said it better! I feel the same!

Leave a Reply

