Satisfied?

I am officially on Christmas holidays and have some time on my hands. So, after I dropped my daughter at daycare, left my older daughter at home stewing in her morning lousy mood and got some grocery shopping done, I headed over to a “large format electronics superstore” (ok, ok, it was Best Buy…just didn’t feel like offering endorsements) to look at GPS devices.

My family is driving down to Florida over the March break for the first time and since I had received a gift card from my sister and brother-in-law from Amazon for my birthday, I thought I would look at GPS devices at Best Buy and then just buy it on Amazon.

After strolling around the huge store for about 15 minutes, it occured to me that Best Buy has based its whole entire business model on a characteristic that according to many Scientists is unique to human beings.

We are never satisifed.

All retailers of consumer based-products from cars to computers, base their entire business on this fact. We are never content with what we have…we always need more and better.

Best Buy is a microcosm of this concept.

As I strolled down the aisles, I saw computer after computer and TV after TV…all telling me that they are bigger, faster, sharper, slimmer then either their competitor or their predecessor.

They tell you that when you buy a new computer or any electronic gadget it immediately becomes antiquated…not because it stops doing what it was designed to do, but because you can be sure that the same product the following year will have an extra little feature or be redesigned making us believe that what we just bought is obsolete.

It still works….its just not “current”. A television is still a television; it still broadcasts the same crappy television shows and movies regardless of its size or all of its bells and whistles. Last year’s IMac is probably just as good as this years IMac but Apple tells us that this one is the slimmest, fastest and the most user-friendly model they have ever made.

What will next year’s be like?

I am just as guilty as the next guy….I am a human being and sometimes get sucked in by the slick marketing efforts of some of these companies. Guilty as charged!

The funny thing is, most of us realize, in our rational mind, that this “urgency” imposed on us by these manufacturers is a complete crock..yet, we still get taken in.

This time, I was able to walk around the Best Buy store…looking at all these things I had to have and was able to leave te store, empty handed.

But when you boil it right down, you really need to ask yourself, “do you really need it?” Will you be able to exist without it?

I mean seriously, how much shit do you need?

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

