Hanging with Annie

Ever since I began this blog and my children found out about it, my youngest daughter Annie, has kept asking me when I was going to write about her?
“How come I’m not in your blog”, she would say to me on an almost daily basis.
I told her that she is in my blog … in every single word I write because everyday she inspires me.

Unfortunately, to a nine year old, this means absolutely nothing!

Coincidentally, I picked up Annie from daycare early yesterday (at her request) and we had an opportunity to “hang” together…something that I love to do with my wife and girls as often as possible.

I have found, in my 13 years of parenting, that one of the best things to do while “hanging” is eating. So, I suggested to Annie that she and I go to a local coffee shop where we could “hang”.
This brought a huge smile to her face because I picked her up early and because she knew that she was going to be treated to something yummy and because, I would like to think, she would be hanging with her Dad.

We got our seats and placed our order (we shared a fudge brownie with vanilla gelato, whipped cream and drizzled with chocolate and caramel sauce, she had a hot chocolate and I had an Americano, my favorite).

Then, we just proceeded to “dish”….she told me about her day. We talked about things that were coming up in our lives, like a March break trip to Florida or a Christmas dinner with friends that has become a tradition ever since I started dating my wife. There was no particular rhyme or reason to our conversation…no agenda. We just sat and gabbed and laughed for about an hour. As we left the coffee shop, she took me under my arm and suggested we stroll for a bit (I think because she wanted to check out a nearby toy shop).

How cool was this?

Not once did I feel compelled to check my Blackberry…not once was I thinking about the juggling act of paying bills at the end of the month. Not once did I think about how lost I feel in my quest to find a life’s work that will inspire and empassion me.

All I really cared about and had any interest in focusing on was Annie.

Annie…who always wakes up on the right side of the bed, who doesn’t have a mean-spirited bone in her body, who is kind, loving, considerate, who has an amazing sense of comedic timing and always makes us laugh, who is a highly sensitive and empathic young person. Annie, my hanging buddy!

I got the honor of spending a few hours with one of the most precious gifts I have ever been honored to receive. I was present, living in the moment and taking it all in.

There was no place else I needed to be or wanted to be.

Often times, the best experiences we enjoy in life or those that are completely spontaneous, improvised and always with people that mean the most to us.

About theenlightenedmale

Stephen Gosewich is an aspiring enlightened male. He spends his days during the week as a guy working in real estate. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his wonder best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters. Steve has supplied blogs to The Good Men Project, Village Living Magazine (print/online) and has been the "Daddy Blogger" at pinkandbluebaby.com. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

