The Passage of “Wind”

Since my last post’s subject matter was pretty heavy-duty, I thought I would “enlighten” it up a bit by appealing to all my fellow yogis and to anyone, for that matter, who has ever had to desperately fart.

As I mentioned in my December 9th post, I have been practicing yoga for about 4 years. I love all the benefits yoga has to offer; physically, mentally and spiritually. I mentioned in my blog that anyone who says that yoga is easy has never really tried it. It is very strenuous, challenging and highly rewarding.

Often times, you are twisting and moving your body in ways that stir up your inner organs which is a good thing. You are detoxifying your body of all its impurities. But in the course of all this twisting and hard work, it’s not uncommon for you to experience the need to fart.

I am proud to say that in the four years that I have been practicing yoga, I have never once “let one rip”. Is this because I am just that polite or is it because I know what the ramifications would be if I ever lost control?

The other night I was in my class and we had just begun the restorative portion of the practice. In restorative yoga, you rely heavily on “props” to support you. These poses are often held for longer lengths of time, giving you a chance to meditate or “go inward”.

Without giving out too much information, I happened to be feeling particularly “gaseous” and was actually focusing more on not letting one slip out then on my “ujjayi” breathing.

As a result, I began thinking about what would happen if it did slip? How would people respond? Would they laugh hysterically, would they completely ignore it…what would they do?

In the four years that I have been practicing yoga, I can remember a handful of occasions where I was in a class and heard someone “slip”. While I was never able to pin-point who the culprit was, in each and every instance, there was never an acknowledgement; no laugh, no gasp…nothing. Maybe it’s because women are more couth then men and don’t respond in the same way to noises of the body as men do. That being said, my two gorgeous daughters always manage to let out a belly laugh every time one of us lets one fly at home….must be a kid thing.

But seeing as though I am not dainty or petite, it’s highly unlikely that my fart would go unnoticed if I, heaven forbid, inadvertently let one go in class.

As I was thinking about all of this fart stuff during my restorative practice, I actually began to laugh. No one saw me, but I just thought the whole thing was absolutely hysterical. I managed to finish my class…invigorated, calm, relaxed and fart-free!!

I think that part of being “enlightened” is not to take life so seriously. Farting is a natural bodily function. We all do it. No sense hiding it, but just don’t do it while doing a “happy baby pose”!

About I'm Just A Dad

Stephen Gosewich is just a Dad (he is a former Enlightened Male but decided to change the name because when you search Enlightened Male, "other...wink, wink" are displayed. He spends his days during the week as a working stiff. At all other times, he just enjoys hanging out with his best friend and wife and their two very active and inspiring daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Passage of “Wind”

  1. Debbie Donsky says:

    This is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

